G-Force Clan
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Forums of the G-Force Clan

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Archery, anyone?

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
d_sparks

d_sparks

Archery, anyone? Empty
PostSubject: Archery, anyone?   Archery, anyone? EmptyTue Mar 03, 2009 4:54 pm

So, is anyone here interested in archery at all? I'm part of a medieval reenactment group, and I've been studying and practicing medieval archery for several years now. We don't give two shits about modern, compound, or composite bows/arrows. Basically, if the technique/material/equipment/etc. existed over 700 years ago (and earlier) we use it for competition and love every minute of it.

In the society, we also have groups that concentrate on heavy combat, arts and sciences, and rapier combat... I'm currently trying to get involved in heavy combat as well, which basically consists of people wearing period accurate (meaning, it existed 700+ years ago) armor (made from steel and leather) and hitting each other with sticks and using shields as well. Here's a good example of sca combat:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQjh8EQ5h40

And rapier combat:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ym9e7t9yrbI

(We rarely, in fact, NEVER do martial activities indoors. These videos were taken from other parts of the country. it ruins the atmosphere if it's done indoors...)

I'm also trying to get into combat archery, where you have to wear the armor and whatnot, only you shoot special arrows at other people trying to "kill them", and no these aren't nerf arrows or anything, they're solid rubber tips, which still hurt when you get hit with them.